News, Events and Culture

Final result in Councillor by-election confirmed

Tuesday May 12 2015

The Councillor by-election result has now been confirmed with the counting of special votes.

Electoral Officer, Dr John Annabell confirmed today that Bruno Petrenas has been elected as the City's newest Councillor, filling the vacancy left by Grant Smith's election to Mayor.

The formal announcement will be published in the Manawatu Standard on Wednesday 13 May 2015 and the new Councillor will be sworn into Office at an Extraordinary Council meeting to be held on Monday 18 May 2015 at 9.00am in the Council Chamber. Members of the public are welcome to attend.

The total voter turnout was 31.5 per cent.

For more information contact:

Dr John Annabell

Electoral Officer

356 8199

Or visit