Day of election for the 2022 elections of Palmerston North Council

No longer on display. Expired on 08 October 2022, 12:00 PM

On 17 August 2022, Palmerston North City Council gave public notice of the 39 confirmed candidates in the upcoming election, the two candidates who are elected unopposed, and the dates for the voting period.

Nominations received

Notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that the following persons have been duly nominated as candidates 

Mayor (one vacancy)

Family name First name Affiliation
BARBER Ross Easton Team God
KIKHOUNGA-NGOT Hussein Pierre Independent
MITCHELL Glenn Independent
SMITH Grant Independent


Council: Te Hirawanui general ward (13 vacancies)

Family name First name Affiliation
ARNOTT Mark Gordon  
BARRETT Brent Green
BOWEN Rachel Independent
BUTT Zulfiqar Labour
CLEMENT Mike Independent
DUTT Meenal Independent
FINDLAY Lew Independent
FRASER Jacinta
HANDCOCK Patrick Independent
HAPETA Leonie Ruth  
JENSEN Dion Allen Independent
JOHNSON Lorna Labour
Hussein Pierre
LEE Chiu Yeung  
MEEHAN Billy Independent
NAYLOR Karen  Independent
PETRENAS Bruno William Independent
RAHIM Atif Independent
TAONUI Rhia Independent
WALMSLEY Samuel Independent
WELLINGTON Murray John  
WILSON Nathan Charles  
WOOD William George  
ZABELIN Kaydee  Green

As there are (for each office) more candidates than there are vacancies to be filled, an election will be held between the listed candidates on Saturday, 8 October 2022, under the Single Transferable Voting electoral system by postal vote.

Elected unopposed

Te Pūao Māori Ward (two vacancies) 

As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies, Roly FITZGERALD and Debi MARSHALL-LOBB are duly declared elected members of the Palmerston North City Council.

Order of candidate names

The Palmerston North City Council has resolved under regulation 31 of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 to adopt the random order of candidate names to appear on the voting documents.

Issuing of voting documents

Voting documents will be posted to electors from Friday, 16 September 2022.

Return of voting documents

Voting documents must be returned not later than noon, Saturday 8 October 2022 to the electoral officer.

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered to the Civic Administration Building, Palmerston North City Council, Te Marae o Hine - 32 The Square, Palmerston North between Friday 16 September 2022 and Friday 7 October 2022 during normal office hours, and Saturday 8 October 2022 between 9am and noon.

Special voting

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above council office and times.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector right up to and including Friday 7 October 2022 – the day before the close of voting.