Council & City

Final notice of triennial elections 2019: Declaration of result

Thursday October 17 2019

The final result for the Palmerston North City Council elections held on Saturday 12th October is as follows.


SMITH Grant  Independent  elected
TUIONO Teanau Green excluded
ASQUITH Andy Independent Labour Group excluded
KIKHOUNGA-N’GOT P. Hussein   excluded
ENGU Maruna (Donut Man)   excluded

BARBER Ross Easton

Team God, Theosophical Society excluded

Grant SMITH is declared elected

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 10,145. There were 46 informal votes and 837 blank votes.

Councillor - City Wide (At Large) (15 vacancies)

UTIKERE Tangi   elected
FINDLAY Lew Independent elected
BARRETT Brent Green elected
BOWEN Rachel Independent elected
NAYLOR Karen   elected
DENNISON Vaughan   elected
BATY Susan   elected
HANDCOCK Patrick (Pat)   elected
RUTHERFORD Aleisha   elected
HAPETA Leonie   elected
JOHNSON Lorna Labour Party elected
MEEHAN Billy Independent elected
PETRENAS Bruno Independent elected
DINGWALL Renee Green elected
BUTT Zulfiqar Labour Party elected
ASQUITH Andy Independent Labour Group excluded
LOCKWOOD Latham Independent excluded
O'FEE Marty   excluded
McCANN Duncan Independent excluded
KIKHOUNGA-N'GOT P. Hussein   excluded
BYRNES Nick   excluded
RAHIM Atif Free Hearing Aids Campaign excluded
BUTLER Mel Vote for Mel, She'll serve you well excluded
LANE David Independent excluded
TE PAPA Nola   excluded
WILSON Nathan   excluded
DIANU Iulian Have a Voice excluded

Brent BARRETT, Susan BATY, Rachel BOWEN, Zulfiqar BUTT, Vaughan DENNISON, Renee DINGWALL, Lew FINDLAY, Patrick (Pat) HANDCOCK, Leonie HAPETA, Lorna JOHNSON, Billy MEEHAN, Karen NAYLOR, Bruno PETRENAS, Aleisha RUTHERFORD and Tangi UTIKERE are declared elected.

The final absolute majority of votes (final quota) as determined at the last iteration was 1,209.89. There were 402 informal votes and 199 blank votes.

The voter return was 37.32%, being 20,836 voting papers, excluding special votes.

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer
Palmerston North City Council
17 October 2019