News & Events

Final election results confirmed

Friday October 14 2016

The final results of the 2016 Palmerston North City Council local body elections have been confirmed.

Grant Smith has been re-elected as the city’s mayor and there will be four new faces around the Council table.

For the election of mayor, Grant Smith received a total of 18,773 votes and Ross Barber of Team God a total of 1,024.

The four new councillors are the Green Party’s Brent Barrett with 1,808 votes, Labour’s Lorna Johnson with 1,322 votes, Karen Naylor with 1,287 votes, and Gabrielle Bundy-Cooke with 1,284 votes.

The nine re-elected councillors are Lew Findlay (2,202 votes), Tangi Utikere (1,681 votes), Adrian Broad (1,360 votes), Aleisha Rutherford (1,307 votes), Vaughan Dennison (1,282 votes), Duncan McCann (1,277 votes), Rachel Bowen (1,283 votes), Leonie Hapeta (1,283 votes), Jim Jefferies (1,270 votes), Susan Baty (1,288 votes), and Bruno Petrenas (1,236 votes).

Total voter turnout was approximately 39 per cent, a slight increase on the 2013 election.

The successful candidates take up their positions on Sunday 16 October. They will be officially sworn in on Wednesday 26 October in the Council Chambers.

Further details about the election results can be found at