Participate Palmy

How we elect our Council

Check out what local government elections look like for our council.

2022 elections key dates

  • Nominations are open from Friday 15 July to 12pm on Friday 12 August
  • Voting is open from Friday 16 September to 12pm on Saturday 8 October
Photo shows map of the Palmerston North city electoral boundary, which includes the rural villages of Ashhurst, Bunnythorpe, Linton and Longburn, as well as the urban area.

Palmerston North city local electoral boundary.

In Palmerston North we are represented by:

  • a mayor, across the city
  • 2 councillors across the city elected to a Māori ward, Te Pūao Ward
  • 13 councillors across the city elected to a general ward, Te Hirawanui Ward

Elections are held once every three years. If there is an unexpected vacancy, a by-election may need to be held.

We choose who will represent us by using the single transferable voting (STV) electoral system. Under STV, you rank candidates according to preference, rather than ticking the names of the candidates you wish to vote for. You may rank as few or as many candidates as you wish, regardless of the number required to be elected.

We vote by post. Voting documents are mailed to those people whose names are confirmed on the electoral roll. If your name is not on the final electoral roll you may still qualify to cast a special vote.

For more information about how elections are held in Palmerston North, you can contact our electoral officer, Dale Ofsoske, Independent Election Services Ltd, on 0800 922 822 or email