Participate Palmy

Notice of by-election: Palmerston North City Councillor

Saturday November 21 2020

A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy for the Palmerston North City Council. The vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of Councillor Tangi Utikere following his election to Parliament.


Nominations for the above position open on Tuesday 24 November 2020 and must be made on the official nomination form. Copies of the nomination form and a candidate guide can be requested from the Palmerston City Council office, downloaded from, or from the electoral officer (see contact details below).

Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than noon on Tuesday 22 December 2020. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by Eftpos, cash or online banking (see nomination form for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent colour photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in an information sheet which is available with the nomination form.

All nomination documents must be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the information sheet for further details.

Electoral rolls

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected from Tuesday 24 November 2020 to Tuesday 22 December 2020 during normal office hours at either the Palmerston North City Council Customer Service Centre, 32 The Square, or the Palmerston North Central Library, 4 The Square.

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

  • completing an enrolment form, available at any PostShop
  • calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
  • visiting the Electoral Commission website (

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Tuesday 22 December 2020.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available from the Palmerston North City Council customer service centre or Council’s website, and must be returned to the electoral officer before 4pm on Tuesday 22 December 2020.

Election details

If an election is required to fill this vacancy, the election will be conducted by postal voting under the Single Transferable Voting (STV) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers. The voting papers will be mailed out to electors on Tuesday 26 January and voting will close at midday on Wednesday 17 February 2021.

Warwick Lampp
Electoral Officer
PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140 or 0800 666 935