Bikes in Schools

We're proud to be part of the Bikes in Schools programme.

Bikes in Schools is all about regular and equal access to a bike at school for every child. So far, there are 13 schools in the programme.

Each year we buy a small fleet of bikes for a school. The bikes are stored at the school for children to use at lunchbreaks and during lessons. In some case we have also built a limestone pump track at the school for children to try riding on different surfaces.

These are open to the public outside school hours, when you can take your child to ride their bike at any of the schools listed below.

We also work with the schools on travel plans to see how we can get more children and staff riding to school each day.

Our current schools are: 

  • Ashhurst School
  • Awapuni School
  • Central Normal School
  • Cloverlea School
  • Hokowhitu School
  • Longburn School
  • Roslyn School
  • Ross Intermediate
  • Russell Street School
  • St Mary's Catholic School
  • Takaro School
  • Te Kura o Wairau
  • Terrace End School
Photo shows group of school pupils wearing helmets and riding bikes.  

Students at the Takaro School programme launch.

The programme has some eligibility criteria. If your school is interested, get in touch with Council on 06 356 8199.

Waka Kotahi NZTA also has a range of teaching resources for schools.